Posted by: Seth D. | August 13, 2009

The Greatest Time of the Year is Upon Us…

It is right around the corner.  Practice started this past weekend.  The smell many say is in the air.  To me another reminder of what season lies ahead is the arrival of my seasonal allergies.  It is the beginning of football season.  No not the NFL football season, but PENN STATE FOOTBALL SEASON.  Sadly this is the first time in 6 years I will not have season tickets, but I will be attempting to attend several games this fall.

I grew up a fan of Penn State football, but I never attended a game in person until my freshmen year of college.  While my first couple years were some of the worst in Penn State history, I still attended each one.  I was there for the 6-4 debacle that still makes me cringe.  A “highlight” video of the game can be found below.

Iowa vs. Penn State 2004 (via HawkeyeFan123)

I was also there for the magical 2005 Big Ten Championship run, which provided me some of the greatest experiences of my life.  No matter the record or opponent myself and my friends were at the gate early and often.

The crew:  Penn State vs Ohio State Oct 8, 2005 17-10 W

The Crew

One notable event that I am not proud of is when I left Brandi’s roomate at her dorm because she was late getting ready to go.  While I regret it, I could not contain the power that Penn State football holds over me.  The hunger that spread throughout the fanbase during one of the worst stretches in Penn State football history was finally satisfied on Oct 8, 2005 during what I would rate as the best football game I have ever attended.

2005 Penn State Vs Ohio Stat (via vinnymckee)

This season carries with it the opportunity for Penn State to solidify its position atop the Big Ten and to prove that it is once again a force to be reckoned with from season to season.  I look forward to the season and as of right now I have definite plans to attend the Iowa game on September 26th.  The game  has been declared a full stadium whiteout, so I will leave you with the following video.

Whiteout (via AlexCohenPSU)

Leave a Reply

Categories

